Archive for August, 2008

Baracoa Geography

It is located at about 1200 kilometres from Havana in the eastern part of the country specially to the northwest of Guantánamo, the present capital of the province that takes its name and also bounds with the Moa mine municipality, a locality that belongs to Holguín.
It has an extension of 921.2 (sq. km) and it [...]

Bayamo History

San Salvador de Bayamo is the second of the seven villages founded by Diego Velázquez. The area, where an indigenous community once settled down next to the shores of a river was finally established on November 5 th,1513.
By the end of 1514, the unhappy colonizers with the houses already taken on their own moved their [...]

Bayamo Geography

The city of San Salvador de Bayamo is located in the eastern region of Cuba. It is precisely to the southeast of the island and in the middle of Valle del Río Cauto, the largest (as regard to its extension)in the country. This is a city full of history throughout all its corners. Its territorial [...]

Guantánamo History

In the year 1796 was founded the town of Santa Catalina de Guantánamo.
When the Spaniards arrived, the region was inhabited by the Taino Amerindians. The [...]

Guantánamo Geography

Province located in the southeast of Cuba’s eastern region. It has an extension of 6 176 sq km (2385 sq mi) and an estimated population [...]

Isla de La Juventud History

This island, the largest of the Canarreos archipelago, was discovered by Admiral Christopher Columbus in 1494. During several centuries [...]

Isla de La Juventud Geography

Special municipality, the largest in Cuba, contained in an island located in the [...]

Santiago de Cuba History

The homonym capital city of the Santiago de Cuba province was founded by Diego Velázquez in 1515, by the mouth of river Paradas, [...]

Santiago de Cuba Geography

Province located in the south of Cuba’s eastern region. It has an extension [...]

Granma History

Bayamo, the capital of Granma was founded in 1513. It was the second village founded in Cuba an was [...]

Granma Geography

Province located in the southwest portion of Cuba’s eastern region. It has an [...]

Holguín History

By the port of Bariay, today within the limits of this province, the Great Admiral Christopher Columbus disembarked on October 1492, thus beginning, with the [...]

Holguín Geography

Province located in the northeast portion of Cuba’s eastern region with coasts to [...]

Las Tunas History

Several stories have been weaved around the founding of this province. Some speak of the arrival of Alonso de Ojeda to the aboriginal village of Cueybá after having wrecked in 1510. He wandered along the coastal marshland carrying an image of Virgin Mary that he rescued from the wreckage. The first village he encountered was [...]

Las Tunas Geography

Westernmost province in Cuba’s eastern region limiting north with Camagüey and the Atlantic [...]

Camagüey History

Named Santa María del Puerto Príncipe by the colonizers in 1515, Camagüey was one of the first villages [...]

Camagüey Geography

Province located to the eastern end of the central region of Cuba. It [...]

Ciego de Ávila History

Ciego de Ávila is located in a plain of approximately 6900 sq km (2664 sq mi) of extension. Cattle, sugar cane, and vegetable products [...]

Ciego de Ávila Geography

Province located in the central region of Cuba. It has an extension of [...]

Sancti Spíritus History

Sancti Spíritus was one of the first seven towns founded by Spanish conqueror Diego Velázquez in the island. After [...]

image image image